Home Astrology The 9 Different Types of Astrology Nobody Told You About

The 9 Different Types of Astrology Nobody Told You About


By: Maria Rincon

Astrology has been studied and practiced throughout the world since the beginning of humanity. Because of this, there are many different types of this practice, each with its unique approach, set of tools, and purpose.

This article will explore some types of astrology you may have yet to hear of, including natal, mundane, horary, relationship, draconic, karmic, and more.

By understanding what makes each different, you will gain a deeper appreciation for the complexity and diversity of this fascinating field.

The 9 Types of Astrology

Astrology studies the movement of the planets and other celestial bodies based on our position on Earth. However, a birth chart can have different interpretations depending on the type of astrology you’ve studied.

We’ve compiled the major types of astrology and explained their purpose and methodology to make your practice more comprehensive and meaningful.

Different interpretations and concepts will open the door for your intuition to reveal more insights and information about the chart you are studying.

Natal Astrology

Our birth chart is a snapshot of the cosmos based on the time and place we were born. This unique roadmap sheds light on our unique interests, talents, and potential while revealing our blind spots and the challenges we must overcome in our quest for soul fulfillment.

The purpose of Natal Astrology is to gain a deeper understanding of our identity to make the most of our life opportunities and not repeat the same mistakes we have made in our past lives.

Western Astrology

This is the most popular form of astrology in the Western world. It’s based on Babylonian traditions that used horoscopes to study a person’s life path or the energetic quality of an event.

The most common aspect of Western astrology is the position of the Sun, which is determined by our birth date.

The meaning of your Sun sign is considered to represent your core identity and self-expression. Western astrology is also based on the tropical zodiac, beginning with the sign of Aries and ending with the sign of Pisces.

Vedic Astrology

Vedic astrology is the most popular in India and other Eastern countries and dates back thousands of years. This type of astrology is widely used to predict events such as marriage, business success, the birth of children, and other similar topics.

The difference with Western astrology is that the Vedic system is based on constellations instead of seasons. However, they also use the same 12 signs of the zodiac.

Horary Astrology

This type of astrology is designed to answer more specific questions. In this ancient system, a querent asks a question, and the astrologer casts a projected chart to shed light on their concerns.

The location is based on where they are found, and the time is determined at the moment of the question. It’s important to note that the answers given are valid for the following three months.

Mundane Astrology

Mundane astrology refers to studying worldly events rather than individuals and their personalities. This type of astrology is used to interpret and predict political issues, social disasters, economic declines, and environmental changes.

You can explore the maps of different nations, states, and cities based on the date of their founding or independence.

Electional Astrology

Electional Astrology helps you discover the best date and time to start a new venture or activity. This can apply to your professional and personal life, such as going on a date, quitting your job, or starting a new course of study.

This type of astrology uses the movements of the Moon and the Ascendant. When the Moon is in the First House, you should push the pedal to the metal.

Relationship Astrology (Synastry, Composite)

Relationship astrology involves overlapping two birth charts to determine the potential compatibility and dynamics of their relationship.

The positions of the planets and the aspects they form, when compared to each other, reveal important information about the relationship’s potential and challenges.

Most astrologers use it for romantic partners, but it can also shed light on business partnerships and friendships.

Draconic Astrology

Draconic Astrology is based on the Moon’s North Node and South Node at the time of a person’s birth. The Draconic chart is believed to reveal our soul’s identity and purpose.

The North Node represents the soul’s purpose or destiny, while the South Node represents past experiences and karmic patterns that we need to release to move forward.

Karmic Astrology

Karmic astrology focuses on the spiritual and karmic meaning of our birth chart. It sheds light on our most significant past life experiences and lessons that we must be aware of to evolve in this lifetime.

This type of astrology can also be used to explore relationship patterns and karmic connections between our friends, partners, colleagues and acquaintances.

Learn and Grow With Astrology

Astrology is a complex and multifaceted practice with many different types that can offer us a deeper understanding of our personality, relationships, and purpose in life.

We can rely on the concepts of natal astrology to better understand our personality traits, use mundane astrology to explore the spiritual meaning of political trends or tap into relationship astrology to unleash the potential of the relationships that accompany our lives.

While each type of astrology has its unique approach, they can all be powerful tools for self-awareness, personal growth, and understanding the world around us.

About Maria Rincon

I’m a professional astrologer and a licensed psychologist, passionate about helping others find their voice and heed their inner calling with courage. I support people’s unique essence with my writing, encouraging them to use the natural skills bestowed by their zodiac signs.